The Desk appreciates the support of readers who purchase products or services through links on our website. Learn more...

European Union sanctions Arabic-language Russian broadcasters

A still frame from a broadcast on Russia-back news and opinion channel RT.
A still frame from a broadcast on Russia-back news and opinion channel RT. (Image via RT broadcast, Graphic by The Desk)

The European Union (EU) this week imposed fresh sanctions on two broadcast television outlets backed by the Russian government.

The Arabic-language versions of RT (formerly Russia Today) and Sputnik have been added to a list of media outlets sanctioned by the EU following the start of a military conflict against Ukraine that was provoked by the Russian government one year ago.

Sanctions have already been imposed on other RT and Sputnik channels, including versions that broadcast in French and German, as well as broadcasts that were available inside Ukraine following the start of the conflict.

The bans are largely symbolic, as satellite broadcasters have already pulled the Arabic-language feeds of RT and Sputnik from their products.

Photo of author

About the Author:

Matthew Keys

Matthew Keys is the publisher of The Desk and reports on the business and policy matters involving the broadcast television, streaming video and radio industries. He previously worked for Thomson Reuters, Disney-ABC, Tribune Broadcasting and McNaughton Newspapers. Matthew is based in Northern California, has won numerous awards in the field of journalism, and is a member of IRE (Investigative Reporters and Editors).