The Desk appreciates the support of readers who purchase products or services through links on our website. Learn more...

Haystack News launching several pop-up live channels in June

(Image: Haystack News/Handout, Graphic: The Desk)

Haystack News says it will offer live streams of several news events throughout the month of June.

The free, ad-supported streaming news aggregator plans to offer a pop-up section commemorating the 100th anniversary of the Tulsa Race Massacre, with on-demand news clips interspersed with live news coverage of centennial events starting Tuesday and lasting through the end of the week.

Other pop-up channels slated for June include coverage of Pride Month from June 7 to June 30; the sentencing of Derek Chauvin from June 23 to June 26 and coverage of Juneteenth events from June 15 to June 21.

“Dedicated Haystack News streaming channels are a popular way our users consume news and get multiple perspectives on the Haystack platform,” Daniel Barreto, the co-founder and chief executive of Haystack News’ parent company Haystack TV, said in a statement e-mailed to reporters. “Our curated channels on trending topics surface high-quality journalism to more of our viewers and allow them a deep-dive experience bringing together news from hundreds of partners.”

Haystack News coverage will draw upon several national and local news partners, including ABC News, CBS News, the Associated Press, Newsy, Cox Media Group, Fox Television Stations and Hearst Television.

The free service is widely supported as an app available for Apple, Android, Roku and Amazon devices. It is also accessible through most smart TV platforms and through the website

Photo of author

About the Author:

Matthew Keys

Matthew Keys is the publisher of The Desk and reports on the business and policy matters involving the broadcast television, streaming video and radio industries. He previously worked for Thomson Reuters, Disney-ABC, Tribune Broadcasting and McNaughton Newspapers. Matthew is based in Northern California, has won numerous awards in the field of journalism, and is a member of IRE (Investigative Reporters and Editors).