The Desk appreciates the support of readers who purchase products or services through links on our website. Learn more...

Pluto TV unveils new Comedy Central Animation channel

(Still frame courtesy MTV Networks/ViacomCBS)

Free streaming TV service Pluto TV is raiding the back catalog of its parent company ViacomCBS’ content library once again, this time for a new channel dedicated to classic MTV and Comedy Central cartoons.

Back in September, The Desk exclusively reported the streaming service was readying the launch of Comedy Central Animation, a new 24-hour streaming channel that would incorporate adult animated sitcoms from several ViacomCBS-owned cable networks.

The channel officially launched last week, according to the cartoon blog Bubble Blabber.

Viewers will be able to find several former MTV and Comedy Central shows, including MTV’s trademark cartoon Beavis and Butt-Head and spin-off Daria as well as Comedy Central’s Drawn Together, Ugly Americans, Jeff and Some Aliens and Legends of Chamberlain Heights.

Some of these shows were available on other Pluto TV channels before this month, but this is the first time the service has offered a dedicated channel that collates all of its adult animated series into a single offering.

The channel will also feature select episodes from the first 10 seasons of Comedy Central’s hit cartoon South Park. The full catalog, minus a few episodes, are available on AT&T’s streaming service HBO Max.

The new Comedy Central Animation channel is available on channel 467 via the Pluto TV app for tablets, phones and smart TVs. It can also be viewed on desktop and laptop PCs or Macs by clicking or tapping here.

Photo of author

About the Author:

Matthew Keys

Matthew Keys is the publisher of The Desk and reports on the business and policy matters involving the broadcast television, streaming video and radio industries. He previously worked for Thomson Reuters, Disney-ABC, Tribune Broadcasting and McNaughton Newspapers. Matthew is based in Northern California, has won numerous awards in the field of journalism, and is a member of IRE (Investigative Reporters and Editors).