The Desk appreciates the support of readers who purchase products or services through links on our website. Learn more...

Super Bowl LVII will stream live for free on Roku devices

State Farm Stadium, as it appeared before Super Bowl LVII, in Glendale, Arizona. (Photo by Gage Skidmore, Wikimedia Commons; Graphic by The Desk)
State Farm Stadium, as it appeared before Super Bowl LVII, in Glendale, Arizona. (Photo by Gage Skidmore, Wikimedia Commons; Graphic by The Desk)

Are you ready for some football?

The highly-anticipated match-up between NFC champion Philadelphia Eagles and AFC champion Kansas City Chiefs is almost here, with the “big game” set to take place Sunday, February 12 from State Farm Stadium in Glendale, Arizona.

Super Bowl LVII will be the third Super Bowl held in State Farm Stadium since it opened in the Phoenix suburb in 2015, and the game between the Eagles and the Chiefs is expected to be electric.

Streamers with a Roku device or Roku-enabled smart TV set are in luck: Super Bowl LVII will be available as a free stream through the Fox Sports app, or “channel,” which is available as a free download from the Roku Channel Store.

Even better, those with a Roku ultra-high definition (UHD/4K) TV or a 4K-capable Roku streaming device hooked into their 4K TV sets can stream an up-converted 4K feed of Super Bowl LVII for free through the Fox Sports app for Roku.

To download the Fox Sports app for Roku, follow these instructions:

  1. If you have a Roku voice-powered remote control, simply press and hold the microphone, then say “Fox Sports.” When the screen refreshes, choose “Add Channel.”
  2. If you don’t have a Roku voice-powered remote control, use the remote to navigate to “Search,” type “Fox Sports,” select the Fox Sports app from the list, then choose ‘Add Channel.”
  3. You can also click or tap here to add the Fox Sports app to your Roku device.

Fox Sports Schedule

Here are the programs airing on local Fox stations and streaming for free through the Fox Sports app for Roku on Super Bowl Sunday:

  • 11 a.m. ET / 8 a.m. PT: “Skip & Shannon: Undisputed Super Bowl Special”
  • 12 p.m. ET / 9 a.m. PT: “Road to the Super Bowl”
  • 1 p.m. ET / 10 a.m. PT: “Super Bowl LVII Pre-Game Coverage”
  • 6:30 p.m. ET / 3:30 p.m. PT: “Super Bowl LVII: Chiefs vs. Eagles”
  • 10 p.m. ET / 7 p.m. PT: “Super Bowl LVII Post-Game Coverage”

Super Bowl LVII and all pre-game and post-game coverage will stream in up-converted 4K through the Fox Sports app for free.

Need a Roku Device?

Amazon is currently offering deep discounts on new Roku devices, including those that support the free Fox Sports 4K stream of Super Bowl LVII, with most devices available for same-day delivery to customers with an Amazon Prime membership.

Rather have an all-in-one experience? Walmart’s Onn-branded 65-inch Roku TV offers 4K video streaming with support for high-dynamic range (HDR) content for just $300, with most Walmart stores carrying the model for same-day pick-up.

Want to record Super Bowl LVII?

The Super Bowl is more than just the big game — there’s also incredible halftime performances (this year, Rihanna will perform at the halftime show, which is sponsored by Apple Music) and iconic Super Bowl commercials, which no one wants to miss. The best way to ensure you’re able to watch every moment of Super Bowl LVII is with a streaming cable TV alternative that offers a cloud-based digital video recorder (DVR).

While Super Bowl LVII will be available to stream for free through the Fox Sports app, users won’t be able to record or play back the moments they miss. However, there are several streaming TV services that offer cloud DVR features, and some of them will offer free trials during Super Bowl LVII.

Vidgo offers access to local Fox stations, Fox Sports 1, Fox Sports 2 and the NFL Channel among others for just $65 a month, and is available as a streaming app for Roku devices. While Vidgo doesn’t offer a free trial, streamers who are looking to watch and record the Super Bowl for free can test out Fubo TV, which costs $75 a month after a seven-day free trial.

Photo of author

About the Author:

Matthew Keys

Matthew Keys is the publisher of The Desk and reports on the business and policy matters involving the broadcast television, streaming video and radio industries. He previously worked for Thomson Reuters, Disney-ABC, Tribune Broadcasting and McNaughton Newspapers. Matthew is based in Northern California, has won numerous awards in the field of journalism, and is a member of IRE (Investigative Reporters and Editors).