Former ABC, NPR journalist Cokie Roberts inducted into Radio Hall of Fame

Cokie Roberts. (Photo by Ariel Zambelich, courtesy National Public Radio)

Former ABC News and National Public Radio journalist Cokie Roberts has been posthumously inducted into the Radio Hall of Fame.

Roberts was one of several inductees announced in a press release by the non-profit group earlier this week. The journalist died from breast cancer last September.

Roberts was voted in the “longstanding network or syndication” group, with recognition for her more than 20 years of broadcast experience. She joins this year’s other inductees into the Radio Hall of Fame, which include Mark Thompson and Brian Phelps of Los Angeles station KLOS (95.5 FM), the team behind the syndicated morning show The Breakfast Club, and conservative talk radio host Glenn Beck.

The Radio Hall of Fame says four inductees this year were chosen by a panel of over 600 industry professionals, while three were voted by the group’s nominating committee with input from the radio listening public.

The inductees will be honored during a live radio broadcast on Thursday, October 29. The full list of inductees appears below:

Longest Local / Regional
(20 years or more)
Mark Thomson & Brian Phelps, KLOS Los Angeles
Donnie Simpson, WMMJ Washington, D.C.

Active Local / Regional
(10 years or more)
Angie Martinez, WWPR New York City

Longest Network / Syndication
(20 years or more)
Cokie Roberts, NPR

Active Network / Syndication
(10 years or more)
The Breakfast Club, Premiere Networks

Music Format On-Air Personality
Sway Calloway, SiriusXM

Spoken Word On-Air Personality
Glenn Beck, Premiere Networks

Correction: An earlier version of this article erroneously said The Breakfast Club radio program is produced in Atlanta. The show is produced in New York City.