CNN unveils programming for upcoming streaming service

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=93cqvt-gOW4

Shows by Kate Bolduan, Sara Sidner, Brian Stelter and Anderson Cooper will be among those debuting on AT&T WarnerMedia’s newest streaming service CNN Plus next week.

On Thursday, the company unveiled its slate of programming for the streaming service, which includes programs from journalists Chris Wallace and Kasie Hunt, who joined CNN Plus from competing news outlets.

“Our lineup of live, daily news and dynamic weekly shows set CNN Plus apart from anything else in the marketplace,” Rebecca Kutler, a senior executive in charge of programming at CNN Plus, said in a press release issued on Thursday. “Our world-class storytellers will inform and entertain our subscribers, and we will continue to grow and evolve in the months and years to come.”

Shows airing each weekday include:

  • “Five Things with Kate Bolduan” (7 AM Eastern / 4 AM Pacific), a spin-off from CNN’s popular newsletter-based podcast.
  • “Go There” (8 AM  Eastern / 5 AM Pacific), a behind-the-scenes look at breaking news from around the world.
  • “Big Picture with Sara Sidner” (9 AM Eastern / 6 AM Pacific), offering in-depth reporting and conversations with newsmakers on the events of the day so far.
  • “Reliable Sources Daily” (11 AM Eastern / 8 AM Pacific), a spin-off of the popular weekend media analysis program, hosted by senior media correspondent Brian Stelter.
  • “The Source with Kasie Hunt” (4 PM Eastern / 1 PM Pacific), a political affairs program hosted by the former MSNBC anchor/reporter Kasie Hunt.
  • “The Global Brief with Bianca Nobilo” (5 PM Eastern / 2 PM Pacific), highlighting international stories of interest from throughout the day.
  • “Who’s Talking to Chris Wallace?” (6 PM Eastern / 3 PM Pacific), an interview program in the style of Larry King Live that “seeks light, not heat” from the former Fox News Sunday host.
  • “The Newscast with Wolf Blitzer” (7:30 PM Eastern / 4:30 PM Pacific), billed as a facts-first newscast that sees the “Situation Room” anchor “hitting the headlines you need to know on this traditional evening newscast.”

In addition to the daily programs, CNN says weekly programs hosted by other network journalists and commentators will also debut on the service. “Anderson Cooper Full Circle” will air twice a week and feature the prime-time news commentator and journalist interviewing A-list guests (the show was previously available on CNN’s website and apps). Cooper will also host a program that highlights his experiences as a new father.

Political journalist Jake Tapper will host a book review program, called “Jake Tapper’s Book Club,” while CNN journalist Poppy Harlow is set to debut a business-focused interview program on the service.

CNN anchor Don Lemon and professional athlete Rex Chapman will also host programs on CNN Plus that are set to be unveiled next month.

CNN Plus will launch on March 29 at a cost of $6 a month or $60 a year, though early bird subscribers will score a 50 percent discount on the service as long as they remain paying customers.

The news network is currently operated by AT&T’s entertainment subsidiary WarnerMedia. The telecom plans to separate WarnerMedia into its own business, one that will merge with Discovery later this spring.